top of page

The author

Maud-Salomé Ekila is Congolese and lives in Kinshasa. She is a journalist, reporter and director.

Pan-Africanists and grassroots activist in Congolese civil society, she is spokesperson for Urgences Panafricanistes, the citizen organization and movement of Kemi Seba.

 

She worked for several years for Congolese television channels and radio stations as well as on several channels broadcasting in different French-speaking African countries, Europe and the USA.

 

For 2 years, she directed the private television channel Télé Haiti, of which she was also the editor-in-chief in Port-Au-Prince.

 

She produces historical and current affairs documentaries and today produces and presents two geopolitical and current affairs programs on the media “Afrique Resurrection”

 

Maud-Salomé Ekila devotes a large part of her work to the duty of memory, to the fight for respect for human rights on the African continent and to the fight for a more equitable society based on sharing and solidarity. His work focuses primarily on Africa and Afro-descendant communities around the world.

 

Through her works, she promotes the self-determination of African societies and the learning or rediscovery of identities erased by colonization and slavery.

 

She campaigns for a reconstruction of black Africa based on unity and deep respect for its identities and cultures, as well as for a new system of economic, political and social functioning more in line with African paradigms.

 

In 2012, she became communications manager for Doctor Mukwege for whom she worked for 10 years, mainly on Transitional Justice issues. During these years, she will coordinate a project to support victims and survivors of sexual violence. A professional experience which was characterized by intense work on the ground in DR Congo, her country, for which she has immense love.

 

“Kesho” is his first audiobook and 2 musical cartoons are extracted from it. She is working on volume 2 as well as volume 3.

52031470055_c2d1648647_o.jpg

Why did you produce KESHO, 13 Histoires et Nursery Rhymes of Africa?

“Becoming a mother changes your life. Motherhood changes the body, but above all the mind.

 

As a Congolese journalist, pan-Africanist and activist, I have always wanted to find these parts of History deliberately erased from books. A History torn out and removed piece by piece in an attempt to make the many cultures and spiritualities of the African continent disappear.

 

This need to rediscover our specificities, our identities, our songs and our lullabies has increased with motherhood.

 

I quickly noticed that it was not easy to obtain children's works, books or sound traces of nursery rhymes from Black Africa. Our numerous writings are themselves difficult to find, thus conveying this false idea that Africans operate solely on a tradition of oral transmission. Fortunately, Africans and Afro-descendants from all over the world have managed, as best they can, to preserve our rich cultural heritage, sometimes paying for it with their lives.

 

For thousands of years, our ancestors have preserved these treasures generation after generation. They sang us nursery rhymes and transmitted values ​​and our memory to us through tales and other forms of stories.

 

It is important to remember: “A people without memory is a people without a future.”

 

So it was obvious. The popular lullabies I sang to my daughter needed to be compiled into a book so other moms and dads could find them. So that those who have been deprived of their roots, whatever the reasons, can find pieces of them and never lose them again.

May moms and dads from other cultures and other continents be able to discover these wonders of African heritage, these wonders of the world. "

bottom of page

top of page

L'Autrice

Maud-Salomé Ekila est congolaise et vit à Kinshasa. Elle est journaliste reporter et réalisatrice.

Panafricanistes et militante de terrain de la société civile congolaise, elle est porte-parole d’Urgences Panafricanistes, l’organisation et mouvement citoyen de Kemi Seba.

 

Elle a travaillé plusieurs années pour des chaînes de télévision et pour des radios congolaises ainsi que sur plusieurs chaînes diffusant dans différents pays d'Afrique francophone, en Europe et aux USA.

 

Pendant 2 ans, elle dirigera la chaine de télévision privée Télé Haiti, dont elle était également la rédactrice en chef à Port-Au-Prince.

 

Elle réalise des documentaires historiques et d’actualité et réalise et présente aujourd’hui deux émissions de géopolitique et d’actualité sur le média « Afrique Resurrection »

 

Maud-Salomé Ekila consacre une grande partie de son travail au devoir de mémoire, à la lutte pour le respect des droits humains sur le continent africain et à la lutte pour une société plus équitable basée sur le partage et la solidarité. Son travail se concentre principalement sur l'Afrique et sur les communautés afro-descendantes dans le monde.

 

Par ses oeuvres, elle promeut l’auto-determination des sociétés africaines et l’apprentissage ou la redécouverte des identités effacées par la colonisation et l’esclavagisme. 

 

Elle milite pour une reconstruction de l'Afrique noire basée sur l'unité et le respect profond de ses identités et de ses cultures, ainsi que pour un nouveau système de fonctionnement économique, politique et social plus en phase avec les paradigmes africains.

 

En 2012, elle devient chargée de communication pour le Docteur Mukwege pour qui elle travaillera pendant 10 ans, principalement sur les questions de Justice Transitionnelle. Durant ces années, elle coordonnera un projet de prise en charge des victimes et survivantes de violences sexuelles, une expérience professionnelle qui s’est caractérisée par un travail intense sur le terrain en RDCongo, son pays, pour lequel elle a un amour immense. 

 

"Kesho" est son premier livre-audio et 2 dessins animés musicaux en sont extraits. Elle travaille sur le tome 2 ainsi que sur le tome 3.

52031470055_c2d1648647_o.jpg

Pourquoi avoir réalisé KESHO, 13 Histoires et Comptines d'Afrique ?

 

 

" Devenir maman change la vie. La maternité change le corps, mais surtout l’esprit.

 

En tant que journaliste congolaise, panafricaniste et militante, j’ai toujours voulu retrouver ces pans de l’Histoire délibérément effacés des livres. Une Histoire arrachée et retirée morceaux après morceaux pour tenter de faire disparaître, notamment, les nombreuses cultures et spiritualités du continent africain.

 

Ce besoin de retrouver nos spécificités, nos identités, nos chansons et nos berceuses s’est amplifié avec la maternité.

 

J’ai rapidement constaté qu’il n’était pas facile de se procurer des ouvrages pour enfants, des livres ou des traces sonores de comptines venus d’Afrique Noire. Nos nombreuses écritures sont, elles-mêmes, difficiles à retrouver, véhiculant ainsi cette fausse idée que les africains fonctionneraient uniquement sur une tradition de transmission orale. Heureusement, des Africains et Afro-descendants du monde entier ont su, tant bien que mal, conserver notre riche patrimoine culturel en le payant parfois de leur vie.

 

Depuis des milliers d’années, nos ancêtres ont su préserver ces trésors générations après générations. Ils nous ont chanté des comptines et nous ont transmis des valeurs ainsi que notre mémoire à travers des contes et d’autres formes d'histoires.

 

Il est important de se le remémorer : « Un peuple sans mémoire est un peuple sans futur ».

 

Ce fut donc une évidence. Les berceuses populaires que je chantais à ma fille devaient être compilées dans un ouvrage afin que d’autres mamans et papas puissent les retrouver. Afin que celles et ceux qui ont été privés de leurs racines, quelles qu’en soient les raisons, puissent en retrouver des morceaux et ne jamais plus les perdre.

Que les mamans et les papas issus d’autres cultures et d’autres continents puissent découvrir ces merveilles du patrimoine africain, ces merveilles du monde. "

bottom of page